Go to German page / Zur deutschen Seite gehen English page (this page)

Text Stream • Selected Animal Stories and Fairy Tales by Manfred Kyber

Manfred Kyber

Introduction

Manfred Kyber was born on March 1st, 1880 in Riga, Latvia and died on March 10th, 1933 in Löwen­stein, Germany.  He was an author who wrote animal stories and fairy tales that are both extra­ordinarily simple and profound at the same time.  The essence of his animal stories can be regarded as a result of the fact that he was a great animal lover, but they also convey thoughts of a deeper nature.

Because the copyright has expired in the year of 2003 (70 years after the author's death), I made some of his stories freely available and I also trans­lated them into English. Note: I am not a native English speaker and I am aware of my translations' limitations. Nevertheless, these stories clearly qualify to be available in other languages  sh; that's my intention.

It is no easy reading: the stories can be touching as well as disturbing. The original German appears old-fashioned at first and discloses itself to the reader only with time. I tried to preserve the language in the translation as far as possible.

Preface

The preface of the book "Das Manfred Kyber Buch" puts it all in a nutshell:

Animals have their comic and their tragedy like us.  They are full of similarity and mutual relation­ship.  The humans mostly believe that there is an abyss between them and the animals. It is only a step in the wheel of life.  For all of us are children of one whole.  To recognize nature, one has to under­stand its creatures.  To under­stand a creature, one has to see the brother in it.


Go to top of pageTop of page

Table of Contents

Animal Stories

Title Book
Pgs.
Description
The C. o. E. 3 The Congress of Earthworms (C.o.E.) meets a caterpillar that is about to pupate. The Earthworms are very sympathetic they but do not realize it is not a disease…
The Great Moment 1 A short story of a little bird in a cage that dreams of flying free.  One day, the great moment arrives…
The Hazel Dormouse Wedding 2 A hazel dormouse couple celebrates their wedding and hugs on a branch. As the groom falls into a pit from which he cannot crawl out, his bride resolves to do a radical step…
Silent Pleas 2 A story about a young wether who is taken from the flock by a strange man who does not look like a shepherd…
The Pilgrim with the Dragging Hind Leg 2 A short story of a little beetle that is ill and is on a pilgrimage.  He meets a bumble-bee who is a proficient house­wife, but she does not seem to under­stand what his pilgrimage is about…
Jeremiah with the Spherical Head 2 The seal Jeremiah with the Spherical Head lives in the ocean off the coast of Tierra del Fuego. He loves when the bells of Tierra del Fuego ring, so he decides to live at the coast to hear the bells better. But what he experiences at the coast is quite different than expected…
Little Mandrake 18 On a rainy February day, a little boy is born and the doctors do not think that his chance of survival is good.  He seems disabled, like a mandrake that has been pulled out from the earth — a child mandrake. Little Mandrake is called a stupid boy by the educated people (or by those who only think they are).  But Little Mandrake has many questions and sees and hears things that the educated people do not perceive at all…
Friendship 3 A story of a basket-maker and his dog who live on the shore of the Lake Zug in Switzer­land.  The basket-maker continues to weave strange old patterns, like those who were un­earthed by archaeologists from sites where in ancient times, houses were built on stilts.  The archaeologists seem to know a lot, but the basket-maker as well as his dog do know more…
Little Karl Octopus 6 In the Medi­terranean, the inhabi­tants are quite different, as is their conver­sation.  The characters range from naïve to educated, but in the end, the seemingly naïve one really reaches her goal…
The Promised Land 38 A monk had not been able to find his god in his monastery cell.  So he leaves his monastery to look for him in the soli­tude of a wild forest…

Fairy Tales

Title Book
Pgs.
Description
The Day's Work before Sunrise 3 In the smithy, pieces of scrap metal (swords and slaugther knives among other things) are waiting to be forged into a new form. They tell each other what they have experienced during their lives. They are old and yearn for a new form but they don't know what that form will be. Then the smith comes…
The Death and the Little Girl 5 A little girl is rather strange, it is avoided by other children and prefers to be alone with its thoughts on the village cemetery. One day, a figure with a black robe appears to the little girl. But the girl really isn't afraid…
Porcelain 6 Several porcelain objects stand in a glass closet, among other things a coffee set and porcelain figures. The whole day, they are silent and motionless but when the last lights go out and the moon shines into the room, they awaken to life…
The King Travelling Enter­tainer 32 In India, a son is born to a poor couple of the lowest caste.  His mother believes he is a king's son, although her husband laughs about it.  Soon after that, the plague arrives in the village and the parents flee, but the plague catches up with them…
Go to top of pageTop of page

Source

Das Manfred Kyber Buch, Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Reinbek 1985 (or earlier), Hardcover, 408 pages, ISBN-10: 3-498-03420-0.
Translation into English by U. Messerle

Deutsche Seite (diese Seite) Zur englischen Seite gehen / Go to English page

Textstrom • Ausgewählte Tiergeschichten und Märchen von Manfred Kyber

Manfred Kyber

Einführung

Manfred Kyber wurde am 1. März 1880 in Riga, Lettland geboren und starb am 10. März 1933 in Löwen­stein bei Heil­bronn. Er war ein Autor, der Tier­geschichten und Märchen schrieb, die zugleich außer­ordentlich einfach als auch tief­gründig sind. Der Kern seiner Tier­geschichten kann als das Resultat dessen betrachtet werden, dass er ein großer Tier­freund war, aber sie vermitteln auch Gedanken von tieferer Natur.

Da das Copyright im Jahr 2003 abgelaufen ist (70 Jahre nach dem Tod des Autors), habe ich einige seiner Geschichten frei verfügbar gemacht und sie auch ins Englische übersetzt.

Es ist keine einfache Lektüre: die Geschichten können sowohl anrühren als auch ver­stören. Die Sprache wirkt zunächst altmodisch und erschließt sich erst mit der Zeit. Ich habe sie unverändert gelassen und auch die alte Rechtschreibung bewusst beibehalten.

Vorwort

Das Vorwort des Buchs "Das Manfred Kyber Buch" fasst es ganz einfach zusammen:

Tiere haben ihre Komik und ihre Tragik wie wir. Sie sind voller Ähnlich­keit und Wechsel­beziehung. Die Menschen glauben meist, zwischen ihnen und den Tieren sei ein Abgrund. Es ist nur eine Stufe im Rad des Lebens. Denn alle sind wir Kinder einer Einheit. Um die Natur zu erkennen, muß man ihre Ge­schöpfe verstehen. Um ein Geschöpf zu verstehen, muß man in ihm den Bruder sehn.


Zum Seitenanfang gehenSeitenanfang

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Tiergeschichten

Titel Buch-
seiten
Beschreibung
Der K. d. R. 3 Der Kongress der Regenwürmer (K.d.R.) trifft auf eine Raupe, die sich verpuppt. Die Regenwürmer sind sehr mitfühlend, begreifen aber nicht, dass das keine Krankheit ist…
Der große Augenblick 1 Eine kurze Geschichte von einem kleinen Vogel in einem Käfig, der davon träumt, frei zu fliegen. Eines Tages kommt der große Moment…
Die Haselmaushochzeit 2 Ein Haselmaus-Paar feiert Hochzeit und umarmt sich auf einem Ast. Als der Bräutigam in eine Grube fällt, aus der er nicht mehr herauskrabbeln kann, entschließt sich seine Braut zu einem radikalen Schritt…
Stumme Bitten 2 Eine Geschichte von einem jungen Hammel, der von der Herde weggebracht wird, von einem Mann, der nicht aussieht wie ein Schaf­hirte…
Der Pilger mit dem schleppen­den Hinter­bein 2 Eine kurze Geschichte über einen kleinen Käfer, der krank und auf einer Pilgerreise ist. Er trifft eine Hummel, die eine tüchtige Hausfrau ist, aber sie scheint nicht zu begreifen, worum es bei seiner Pilger­reise geht…
Jeremias Kugelkopf 2 Der Seehund Jeremias Kugelkopf lebt im Meer vor der Küste Feuerlands und freut sich, wenn die Glocken von Feuerland in der Ferne läuten. Er beschließt, an der Küste zu leben, um die Glocken besser zu hören. Doch was er an der Küste erlebt, ist ganz anders als erwartet…
Alräunchen 18 An einem regner­ischen Februar­tag wird ein kleiner Junge geboren, dem die Ärzte keine guten Über­lebens­schancen geben. Er scheint behindert, wie ein Wurzel­männchen, das man aus der Erde heraus­gerissen hat — eine kleine Alraune. Alräunchen wird von den gebildeten (oder auch nur ein­gebildeten) Leuten oft als dummer Junge bezeichnet. Doch Alräunchen hat viele Fragen und sieht und hört Dinge, die die ge­bildeten Leute gar nicht wahr­nehmen…
Freundschaft 3 Die Geschichte eines Korb­flechter und seines Hunds, die am Ufer des Zuger Sees leben. Der Korb­macher flicht weiterhin seltsame alte Muster, ähnlich denen, die von Archäologen dort ausgegraben wurden, wo früher urzeitliche Pfahl­bauten gewesen waren. Die Archäologen scheinen eine Menge zu wissen, aber sowohl der Korb­flechter als auch sein Hund wissen mehr…
Karlchen Krake 6 Im Mittelmeer sind die Bewohner sehr ver­schieden, und so ist auch ihre Unter­haltung. Die Charaktere reichen von naiv bis gebildet, aber zum Schluss erreicht die scheinbar Naive wirklich ihr Ziel…
Das Land der Verheißung 38 Ein Mönch hatte seinen Gott in der Kloster­zelle nicht finden können. Also verlässt er sein Kloster, um ihn in der Ein­samkeit eines wilden Waldes zu suchen…

Märchen

Titel Buch-
seiten
Beschreibung
Das Tagewerk vor Sonnenaufgang 3 In der Schmiede wartet altes Eisen (u. a. Schwerter, Schlachtmesser) darauf, umgeschmiedet zu werden. Sie erzählen sich, was sie alles erlebt haben. Sie sind alt und sehnen sich nach einer neuen Form, wissen aber nicht, welche das sein wird. Dann kommt der Schmied…
Der Tod und das kleine Mädchen 5 Ein kleines Mädchen ist ziemlich sonderbar, wird von anderen Kindern gemieden und ist lieber mit sich und seinen Gedanken auf dem Dorffriedhof alleine. Eines Tages erscheint ihm eine Gestalt in einem schwarzen Gewand. Aber das Mädchen hat gar keine Angst…
Porzellan 6 Verschiedene Porzellangegenstände stehen in einem Glasschrank, u. a. ein Kaffeeservice und Porzellanfiguren. Den ganzen Tag über sind sie still und regungslos, aber wenn die letzten Lichter verlöschen und der Mond ins Zimmer scheint, erwachen sie zum Leben…
Der Königsgaukler 32 In Indien wird einem armen Ehe­paar der untersten Kaste ein Sohn geboren. Seine Mutter glaubt, er sein ein Königs­sohn, obwohl ihr Mann darüber lacht. Bald darauf kommt die Pest in den Ort und die Eltern fliehen, aber die Pest holt sie ein…
Zum Seitenanfang gehenSeitenanfang

Quelle

Das Manfred Kyber Buch, Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Reinbek 1985 (oder früher), gebunden, 408 Seiten, ISBN-10: 3-498-03420-0.